Aware: Girls in Sports, Serious Knee injuries

I started become more concerned with my knees as I got into soccer full time. I noticed my body falling apart the past year as I do more sports and exercise, especially my knee. As I started seeing my knees deteriorating and causing me pain, I began to notice that a high percent of girls in soccer had an injury, so I decided to do some research. I began worrying about arthritis until I got a hold of this article demonstrating that girls in Sports, they need to worry about their knees as they are much more likely than guys to get injured.

Here is some reasons why…

The risk goes up for girls once they hit age 12 or 13 and for boys around age 14 or 15. Why? Puberty. This is the time when kids grow faster and their bodies can’t always keep up, which is especially true in the leg’s tibia and femur bones. For girls, hormones also make the ligaments more lax. In boys, the testosterone surge actually helps them increase muscular power and control, allowing them to handle the rapid skeletal growth better.

Know… sports that cause the most of these injuries are ones like soccer, gymnastic, volleyball. and basketball, cheer leading and dance, all of which makes you stop suddenly and turn in different directions.

 

So what now?

You must begin doing exercises that are going to strengthen the hips, quads, hamstrings and glutes and build core strength, such as Pilates and more.

 

Some exercises can be found in the following video:

Watch this It’s serious:

If you are doing the same sport all year, you are stressing these muscles and not strengthening the others.

 

In my case, I play soccer all year long, even more intensely in the summer, the period which I noticed I felt the most pain.
Read more at http://www.arcamax.com/health/healthtips/s-1541962-p2#fFC0cuSfRCTd7MZP.99 

Remember… especially for all you girls out there, take this seriously or you might end up not being able to play anything in the end.

Rest, change activities, and do exercise…

I should take my own advice…

 

Posted on July 2, 2014, in Fitness, Interesting facts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Jenny: I should know about that….hmmm I hope you do change activities so that you can save yourself for some dancing….Great work on soccer though xoxBA

Leave a Reply

