Protein Protein Protein Shake or NOT!

I am going crazy!

I have been researching on and on about Protein powder, is it good? is it bad?

Good Question? Well… it’s just not a good answer.

 

I have been training quite a lot lately and find I need more protein, for recovery, for energy, for feeling great-ER!

Protein Supplements, some sources disapprove it, and others say it’s okay. Which is the correct one? I still don’t know.

Here are some sources, and you can be your own judge:

http://www.shape.com/blogs/fit-foodies/get-scoop-protein-powders

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/home-and-garden/spring-cleaning/are-protein-supplements-a-good-idea/article558919/

http://www.eatingwell.com/food_news_origins/green_sustainable/best_meat_worst_meat_the_best_protein_choices (my personal favorite)

 

However, my safest and healthiest matter I found was by following a natural Protein option, that is by foods, such as:

Great Grains: Oats, Spelt, Quinoa, Amaranth, Wheat germ

Protein-Packed Fruits and Snacks: Dried apricot, Sun dried tomatoes, Edamame, Pumpkin and squash seeds, Chia seeds, Walnuts, Almonds and almond butter, Pistachios

Satisfying Seafood: Ocean trout, Salted cod, Sockeye salmon

Meat (and Tofu) Alternatives: Seitan, Tempeh

 

See http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/20-surprisingly-good-sources-vegetarian-protein for details.

So after continuous research, I am still undecided if Protein Powders are a healthy choice, but I will keep you updated if I find the answer.

 

As for now, my only advise is try to get your protein as naturally as possible.

Keep in mind, Fish oil is high protein intake.

 

Watch this video for a good 100% natural protein shake:

 

 

If you have any suggestions or sources stating one or the other, please do not hesitate to reach out.

Posted on July 16, 2014, in Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I have learn a few excellent stuff here.
    Certainly value bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how a loot effort you set to create this ort of wonderful
    informative site.

Leave a Reply

